Super Efficient Heaters

• 133 posts
    December 2, 2023 1:17 PM PST

In the UK (and I guess US and EU) there are numerous adverts now claiming super efficient electric heaters that can warm up a room in minutes and costs pennies to run have been developed by some engineer or student. due to cost of heating.  I notice in UK most of these devices are around 800 watts.

I am no electrician but 800 watts cannot heat anything efficiently, 1kW struggles, 2kW may be minimum required to create much heat so I do not believe any of these adverts.

I know in US as your voltage is half of UK your normal devices that plug in to the wall are half of the usual wattages of UK devices so, in some of the colder States, wonder what portable type electric heaters are used.

Geffers

• 233 posts
    December 3, 2023 8:51 AM PST
    Geffers G said:

In the UK (and I guess US and EU) there are numerous adverts now claiming super efficient electric heaters that can warm up a room in minutes and costs pennies to run have been developed by some engineer or student. due to cost of heating.  I notice in UK most of these devices are around 800 watts.

I am no electrician but 800 watts cannot heat anything efficiently, 1kW struggles, 2kW may be minimum required to create much heat so I do not believe any of these adverts.

I know in US as your voltage is half of UK your normal devices that plug in to the wall are half of the usual wattages of UK devices so, in some of the colder States, wonder what portable type electric heaters are used.

Geffers

All great questions, @Mark Ransome may have some input on your topic

• 233 posts
    December 3, 2023 10:37 AM PST